UNPOPULAR OPINION: Burlesque Isn’t Just Sexist, It’s BORING

UNPOPULAR OPINION: Burlesque Isn’t Just Sexist, It’s BORING

Adrienne sent this to me thinking I would hate it and I hate that I actually like it.  GD you xojane.

There are certain points I agree with but for probably different reasons: as I’ve said so many times before I find the pole dancing craze infuriating because consumers of pole classes want to sanitize it and make it “art” by separating themselves from the dirty sluts who created it, on top of which pole dancing classes around here often take over strip clubs for their embarrassing graduation ceremonies.

And I have the same problem with burlesque performers; even a few of the Suicide Girls on their awful US tour in 2004 or 05 went on record as saying “we aren’t strippers, we don’t pick up dollar bills with our twats.” which is hilarious because a bunch of them were strippers, and also posing naked on the internet for 300$ total, forever, is somehow more feminist than—omg.  sorry I’m so distractable, insults from the sex worker wars never go away apparently.

But I still agree with her.

Leave a Reply

